Skip to main content
Not Found
Live Webcast Replay

Accommodation Requests - Substance Abuse - Contagious Infections


Total Credits: 1 including 1 General

Average Rating:
   1
Competency/Category:
Human Resource Development |  Employee & Labor Relations |  Leadership & Navigation
Faculty:
Michael J. Mirarchi
Course Level:
Intermediate
License:
Access for 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Good judgment works well in handling most employee relations matters.  However, there are special situations where legal requirements dictate specific handling to avoid significant personal and employer liability.   This course provides practical knowledge and scripts for responding to requests for accommodations regarding religious practices or disabilities, confronting employees in substance abuse situations, and handling disclosures of contagious infections so that individual is properly helped, and the health of your workforce is protected.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • How to legally respond to requests for accommodations, religion & disability. 
  • How to enforce your substance abuse policy while meeting all legal requirements.
  • How to respond to off-site and on-site disclosures of potentially contagious infections. 

Major Subjects Accommodation requests - religious practices
Accommodation requests - disabilities
Substance Abuse - constructive confrontation
Substance Abuse - confrontation in obvious impairment situations
Substance Abuse - duty to accommodate as a disability
Disclosures of potentially contagious infections

Course Materials

Faculty

Michael J. Mirarchi's Profile

Michael J. Mirarchi Related seminars and products


Michael J. Mirarchi is recognized as a leading expert in employment-related lawsuit prevention. As an Employee Relations Counselor, he is dedicated to helping employers stay litigation-free. Drawing from over 30 years of experience in employment and labor law, as an employer defense attorney and as a Human Resources Vice President, he developed a unique litigation-avoidance program. Through it, participants acquire significantly increased practical knowledge and a higher level of confidence in addressing employee relations issues than they have ever had before. He has presented his “Reset the Clock” program over 1,200 times to more than 28,000 leaders at employer facilities across North America. Mr. Mirarchi believes that the vast majority of leaders want to exercise their abilities with fairness, integrity and professionalism. Nevertheless, if you lead people long enough, there are plenty of opportunities to run into potential liability situations. In these situations, leaders who know what to do and how to do it have a tremendous advantage over those who don’t, in avoiding lawsuits. He has presented the HR Professional version of this program for SHRM Chapters across the country, annually for Dallas HR. In 2013, Mike was recognized as the first inductee into the HRSouthwest Conference Speaker Hall of Fame. Over the last 25 years, he has consistently been one of the highest-rated speakers, excelling in content, professionalism and delivery. In conjunction with various employer, industry and professional associations, he has conducted live TV broadcasts, webinars and on-line employee relations programs, in addition to presenting at their regional and national conferences. Mr. Mirarchi has a B.S. in Business Administration and a Law Degree from Seton Hall University.


Dates

Tue, Oct 04, 2022 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm CDT
Fri, Oct 28, 2022 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CDT
Wed, Nov 02, 2022 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm CDT
Mon, Nov 21, 2022 - 09:00am to 10:09am CST
Fri, Dec 02, 2022 - 10:00am to 11:09am CST
Tue, Dec 13, 2022 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm CST
Wed, Dec 28, 2022 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm CST
Thu, Jan 12, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CST
Tue, Jan 24, 2023 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm CST
Wed, Feb 08, 2023 - 09:00am to 10:09am CST
Fri, Feb 17, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am CST
Tue, Mar 14, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm CDT
Fri, Mar 24, 2023 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm CDT
Wed, Apr 12, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CDT
Fri, Apr 28, 2023 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm CDT
Tue, May 09, 2023 - 09:00am to 10:09am CDT
Wed, May 24, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am CDT
Tue, Jun 06, 2023 - 11:00am to 12:09pm CDT
Thu, Jun 15, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm CDT
Wed, Jun 21, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CDT
Tue, Jun 27, 2023 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm CDT
Thu, Jul 13, 2023 - 09:00am to 10:09am CDT
Tue, Jul 25, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am CDT
Thu, Aug 10, 2023 - 11:00am to 12:09pm CDT
Mon, Aug 21, 2023 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm CDT
Tue, Sep 05, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CDT
Thu, Sep 21, 2023 - 05:00pm to 06:09pm CDT
Mon, Oct 09, 2023 - 09:00am to 10:09am CDT
Wed, Oct 25, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am CDT
Thu, Nov 09, 2023 - 11:00am to 12:09pm CST
Wed, Nov 29, 2023 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm CST
Mon, Dec 04, 2023 - 02:00pm to 03:09pm CST
Thu, Dec 14, 2023 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm CST
Tue, Dec 19, 2023 - 09:00am to 10:09am CST
Wed, Dec 27, 2023 - 10:00am to 11:09am CST

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For Managers and supervisors at all levels
Course Developer Michael J. Mirarchi, Mirarchi Management Group, TX 

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy Please contact Jessica Vieira with any complaints at jessica.vieira@acpen.com, (617-519-6790).
Course Registration Requirements Online Registration
Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based 


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the HREN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@HREducationNetwork.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


SHRM Accreditation Information HR Education Network is recognized by SHRM to offer SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP professional development credits (PDCs). This program is valid for PDCs. See the course registration page for more information on number of credits and credit types.  For more information about certification or recertification, please visit shrmcertification.org
HRCI Accreditation Information HR Education Network is a recognized provider of recertification credits. HR Certification Institute® pre-approved this program for credits towards aPHRTM, PHR®, PHRca®, SPHR®, GPHR®, PHRiTM and SPHRiTM recertification.  See the course registration page for more information on number of credits and credit types.  

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4

Total Reviews: 1

Please wait ...

Back to Top